People of CPP: Meet Kristi Nation

In our new blog series, we’re taking you behind the scenes to meet the amazing agents and staff of Coastal Premier Properties. We hope you’ll follow along as you get to know more about the faces of our great company!

This week we’re talking to Kristi Nation, one of our longtime Realtors at CPP!

Kristy final

Coastal Premier Properties:  What were the greatest challenges you faced when starting as a new agent?

Kristi Nation: I began my career in the 1980s. At that time my greatest challenge was my youth. It was certainly not the norm to be in your early 20s and selling real estate. In that era, an young woman selling real estate was the exception! I was by far the youngest person in any office I ever worked for. Getting support from other agents was out of the question with one exception: an amazing woman named Jean Taylor.  Jean was a top agent, and often helped me. Getting support from a successful agent was out of the ordinary.

CPP: Did you have a mentor when you started? If so, what values did you take away from them?

KN: The idea of a mentor was not there at the time.  Most people in the office were not willing to share ideas and help a “newbie” succeed. Especially a young woman without experience.   My mentor was the school of hard knocks.   I realized, in order to be more successful I needed to have a better understanding of the real estate business.  Therefore  I accepted a position as a mortgage loan officer.  My mentor was Carol, a senior loan processor who believed in me, and my hard work ethic, and loved the fact that I was young and eager to work and learn.  She taught me the “deal” and made sure I knew every answer. She taught me to be savvy and helped me overcome the deterrent of my youth, with the power of knowledge. I will always be grateful to Carol.  She believed in me when I didn’t. With the help of Carol, I had something not even the experienced real estate agents had at the time.  I had the power of knowledge and how to get a deal done.   I loved the confidence she gave me.

I eventually went back into real estate where I was able to use the knowledge I learned from being a loan officer.  I also met a wonderful associate and friend.  Her name was Susan Meyers.  Susan was my age and the only other “youngster” I ever knew that was in real estate. She and I both worked hard and eventually were tops agents in our Re/max office.  Yes, I’m talking about the owner of CPP.  We’ve known each other a long time.

CPP: What do you enjoy most about working for Coastal Premier Properties?

KN: CPP is different than other office and what I enjoy most is the culture of sharing. I can freely share my ideas with other agents and they reciprocate because we all want to help each other succeed. If we succeed, our clients succeed! It is a non-competitive atmosphere.  We do not have a score board with stars for each of our deals.  I never liked the idea of providing a service for a client, and then turning it into an award show.  We have a poster board where we can put up photos of happy clients with their big smiles.  Amy and Susan are hard working yet share ideas, beliefs, values and offer support when ever we need it. Our Broker, Tom Tucker, is easy going, so smart, and always available to help us with questions on the contract and legal advice.

CPP:  What would you consider your most significant career accomplishment to date?

KN: That I often stay friends with my clients after the deal is done.

CPP: Where are you favorite places to travel?

KN: Although I’ve traveled to South America and Europe, when younger, today I prefer staying in the US and I particularly love the West. The high desert is a favorite with the always changing lighting and scenery.  Short road trips, close to home are for me!

CPP: What keeps you busy outside of work? Any hobbies?

KN: I love anything artistic.  I am currently working on a photo book of abandoned gas stations of the west.  I have several hundred photos so you might say, ” I brake for old gas stations”.  I’ve been recently been inspired to renovate our RV.  With the help of Pinterest and HGTV, my favorite channel, it looks like it will be a never ending project.  Someday just know I will have an art studio full of my paintings of cows, in the meantime, I’ll continue to learn to paint.

For our next post in the People of CPP series, we’ll be speaking with Julie Houston!

Leave a Reply

